Waterloo Road | BBC confirms return of school drama

Waterloo Road
Share this Article:

The BBC has confirmed that hit school drama Waterloo Road will return to BBC One and iPlayer from 2nd January 2024.

The BBC has confirmed that school drama Waterloo Road will return for its next series, the third since its relaunch, on Tuesday 2nd January. Eight new episodes will be available as a full boxset on BBC iPlayer from 6am, though it will also air weekly on BBC One from 8pm that night.

Set and filmed in Greater Manchester, Waterloo Road returned to BBC One earlier this year and was hugely successful.

The synopsis for the new series reads as follows:

With a group of long-term school refusers arriving at Waterloo Road, the balance of peace and harmony once again rests on thin ice. Will Headteacher Kim Campbell (Angela Griffin) and her team have what it takes to stop the school from sinking?

Libby, who makes a surprise return to Manchester to stay with her dad, the school’s Head of History Neil Guthrie (Neil Fitzmaurice), proves to be far from a teacher’s pet. While new kid ‘Schuey’ makes a chaotic arrival on his first day – but as he sets about wreaking havoc on a particular teacher, maybe all is not what it seems with this troublemaker?

And as Preston (Noah Valentine) struggles to adjust back to school life, Kelly-Jo (Alicia Forde) and Dean’s (Francesco Piacentini-Smith) relationship faces the ultimate test.

Read more: Films to watch on BBC iPlayer right now

Also returning for the new series of Waterloo Road are the teaching staff played by Vincent Jerome (Lindon King), James Baxter (Joe Casey), Jo Coffey (Wendy Whitwell), Shauna Shim (Valerie Chambers), Neil Fitzmaurice (Neil Guthrie), Rachel Leskovac (Coral Walker), Katherine Pearce (Amy Spratt), Ryan Clayton (Mike Rutherford) and Sonia Ibrahim (Jamilah Omar).

The new characters will join established pupils including Adam Ali (Kai Sharif), Chiamaka (ChiChi) Ulebor (Shola Aku), Inathi Rozani (Zayne Jackson) Liam Scholes (Noel McManus), Lucy Eleanor Begg (Caz Williams), Priyasasha Kumari (Samia Choudhry), Summer Violet Bird (Tonya Walters) and Thapelo Ray (Dwayne Jackson).

This series marks Angela Griffin’s directorial debut, alongside directors Vicky Thomas, Mickey Jones and Paulette Randall. Writers on the new series include Davey Jones, Jayshree Patel, Natalie Mitchell, Jess Barnes, Gareth McLean, Julia Kent, Rebekah Harrison and Neil Jones.

You can watch all twelve series of Waterloo Road on BBC iPlayer.

Share this Article:

More like this